Review: Say Yes Summer By Lindsey Roth Culli

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Netflix/Hallmark Channel rom-coms, this is the story of a girl who decides to give in to the universe and just say yes to everything, bringing her friendship, new experiences, and, if she lets her guard down, true love.

The perfect book to kick off summer! For as long as Rachel Brooks can remember, she’s had capital-G Goals: straight As, academic scholarship, college of her dreams. And it’s all paid off–after years of following the rules and acing every exam, Rachel is graduating at the top of her class and ready to celebrate by . . . doing absolutely nothing. Because Rachel Brooks has spent most of high school saying no. No to dances, no to parties, and most especially, no to boys.

Now, for the first time in her life, there’s nothing stopping Rachel from having a little fun–nothing, that is, except herself. So when she stumbles on a beat up old self-help book–A SEASON OF YES!–a crazy idea pops into her head: What if she just said yes to . . . everything?

And so begins a summer of yes. Yes to new experiences and big mistakes, yes to rekindled friendships and unexpected romances, yes to seeing the world in a whole new way. This book is a fresh and fun take on the coming-of-age novel that explores the quintessential themes of growing up: taking risks, making mistakes, and, of course, love. And who knows? Lindsey Roth Culli’s hilarious and heartwarming debut may just inspire your own SAY YES SUMMER.

Rating: 4 stars

So I’ve been reading a lot of books about summer it seems, and none of them have surprised me more than Say Yes Summer by Lindsey Roth Culli. I was browsing books on Netgalley recently, and the description of this book caught my eye, and I was lucky enough to get approved for an e-arc. So thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me a copy in exchange for an honest review.

Things I Liked:

  • I really loved the main character, Rachel. I thought she would have been a little stuck up, or at the very least naive, but she was super fun to read about! Her character was innocent, but she was still very confident and outgoing. Her voice felt like an authentic teenager, and I was rooting for her the entire book! I also loved the idea of Rachel branching out the summer before college, and learning more about herself. It was endearing to watch her grow over the course of the book.
  • I loved all the relationships in this book!
    • The familial relationships were so fun! Rachel works in her families pizza shop with all her family, including her awesome Nona. And her mom was reasonably concerned for her at the appropriate times. 
    • Rachels reconnection with her friend from middle school was also amazing to read about! Their banter felt so natural and I loved how open they were with one another
    • I also liked the endearing scene with Bethany! It really steered away from the typical mean girl trope, which I wholeheartedly appreciated. 
    • I also love both the boys in this book! (Yes there is a love triangle, but it was handled really well! I am very picky with love triangles, but this one worked) Miles and Clayton were both so unique, and they both were super sweet! Miles was the dorky but brooding hacker boy next door, and Clayton was the super popular star soccer player who was very passionate about the environment!

I only wish that the book was a little longer, as the ending felt bit rushed. The prevailing relationship could have used the extra development towards the end. If you’re looking for a fun and flirty summer romance, look on further! Say Yes Summer is the perfect fit for you.

3 Comments

  1. This is so wild, I just watched ‘Yes Man’ with Jim Carrey last night, and now I’m seeing this review! This book sounds so so good, and a bit similar to ‘Yes Man’, with the whole concept of saying yes to everything. I’m definitely adding this one to my TBR – so interested to see what the plot is like!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s