Review: What Big Teeth

About the Book:

Rose Szabo’s thrilling debut is a dark and thrilling novel about a teen girl who returns home to her strange, wild family after years of estrangement, perfect for fans of Wilder Girls.

Eleanor Zarrin has been estranged from her wild family for years. When she flees boarding school after a horrifying incident, she goes to the only place she thinks is safe: the home she left behind. But when she gets there, she struggles to fit in with her monstrous relatives, who prowl the woods around the family estate and read fortunes in the guts of birds.

Eleanor finds herself desperately trying to hold the family together — in order to save them all, Eleanor must learn to embrace her family of monsters and tame the darkness inside her.

Exquisitely terrifying, beautiful, and strange, this fierce gothic fantasy will sink its teeth into you and never let go.

Review:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Oh man I’m such a fan of weird book with creepy and sinister vibes, bonus points if there is some body horror. What Big Teeth checked all those boxes, and was unlike any other YA book I’ve read for a long while. It has similar vibes as a Tim Burton movie, and other people describes this as The Addams Family meets Wilder Girls- both some of my favorite creepy stories. 

This book follows Eleanor, who is returning home after years away at boarding school. But when she arrives home, her family is not how she remembers them and the story unfolds from there. 

My favorite thing about this book was the slow reveal of everything. Elenor’s family are really creepy from the page we meet them, but we only begin to find out why piece by piece. It made for a slow but suspenseful pace that had me on the edge of my seat the entire book. And the supernatural elements also added to the atmosphere of the book! 

If you love monster families, creepy gothic houses, and the supernatural, then What Big Teeth is definitely the book for you! 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply to girlonbooks Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s