Blog Tour: The Hawthorne Legacy

Hello! I have such a fun sequel to share with you all today, and a super cool moodboard to share with you all today! Thanks so much to TBR and Beyond Tours for including me on the tour, and keep reading to find out more. Spoiler warning for book one: The Inheritance Games.

About the Book:

Intrigue, riches, and romance abound in this thrilling sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Inheritance Games perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

The Inheritance Games ended with a bombshell, and now heiress Avery Grambs has to pick up the pieces and find the man who might hold the answers to all of her questions – including why Tobias Hawthorne left his entire fortune to Avery, a virtual stranger, rather than to his own daughters or grandsons.

Thanks to a DNA test, Avery knows that she’s not a Hawthorne by blood, but clues pile up hinting at a deeper connection to the family than she had ever imagined. As the mystery grows and the plot thickens, Grayson and Jameson, the enigmatic and magnetic Hawthorne grandsons, continue to pull Avery in different directions. And there are threats lurking around every corner, as adversaries emerge who will stop at nothing to see Avery out of the picture – by any means necessary.

With nonstop action, aspirational jet-setting, family intrigue, swoonworthy romance, and billions of dollars hanging in the balance, The Hawthorne Legacy will thrill Jennifer Lynn Barnes fans and new readers alike.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | IndieBound |

About the Author:

Jennifer Lynn Barnes (who mostly goes by Jen) was born in Tulsa, Oklahoma. She has been, in turn, a competitive cheerleader, a volleyball player, a dancer, a debutante, a primate cognition researcher, a teen model, a comic book geek, and a lemur aficionado. She’s been writing for as long as she can remember, finished her first full book (which she now refers to as a “practice book” and which none of you will ever see) when she was still in high school, and then wrote Golden the summer after her freshman year in college, when she was nineteen.

Jen graduated high school in 2002, and from Yale University with a degree in cognitive science (the study of the brain and thought) in May of 2006. She’ll be spending the 2006-2007 school year abroad, doing autism research at the University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom.

My Thoughts:

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

I was so nervous going into this book because most of the reviews on Goodreads were really low, but I really enjoyed this book! It does fall into the middle syndrome book a bit, and the pacing was a little crazy towards the end, but I still had no much fun reading The Hawthorne Legacy that those things can be overlooked. 

It was so nice to see all the characters again, Jamie and Grayson especially. I was so invested on who she was going to choose (I don’t even know who I would choose), and I was pretty satisfied in the end; though I’m not sure if that decision will be changed in the third book. In fact, all the side characters were great, and I’m definitely invested in the sister and oldest Hawthorne brother plot line, Avery was just a clever as book one, and I really enjoyed learning more about her life before arriving at the Hawthorne mansion. Her desperation to find her birth father was gripping and believable, and it helped with the pacing of the book a lot. 

So while I didn’t love this as much as The Inheritance Games, this book still kept me on the edge of my seat and I will for sure be picking up the third book!!

Moodboard:

Thanks so much for reading! Check out the Tour Schedule so that you can look at all the other awesome posts on this tour!

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s