Blog Tour: Love Somebody

Hi friends!! I am so excited to apart of the Love Somebody Tour hosted by Turn the Page Tours! Continue reading to learn all about this book and hear all my thoughts.

About the Book:

A sparkling YA debut rom-com about a popular high-school girl, her ex-boyfriend-turned-best-friend, and the girl they both fall for–perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli or Casey McQuiston.

Sam Dickson is a charismatic actress, ambitious and popular with big plans for her future. Ros Shew is one of the smartest people in school–but she’s a loner, and prefers to keep it that way. Then there’s Christian Powell, the darling of the high school soccer team. He’s not the best with communication, which is why he and Sam broke up after dating for six months; but he makes up for it by being genuine, effusive, and kind, which is why they’re still best friends.

When Christian falls for Ros on first sight, their first interaction is a disaster, so he enlists Sam’s help to get through to her. Sam, with motives of her own, agrees to coach Christian from the sidelines on how to soften Ros’s notorious walls. But as Ros starts to suspect Christian is acting differently, and Sam starts to realize the complexity of her own feelings, their fragile relationships threaten to fall apart.

This fresh romantic comedy from debut author Rachel Roasek is a heartfelt story about falling in love–with a partner, with your friends, or just with yourself–and about how maybe, the bravest thing to do in the face of change is just love somebody.

BUY LINK | GOODREADS

PUBLISHER: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

RELEASE DATE: January 11th, 2022

GENRES: YOUNG ADULT FICTION—Contemporary, Romance

About the Author:

Rachel Roasek received her BA from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro in 2017, with a degree in Drama and two minors in Sign Language and Anthropology. When not coming up with fictional worlds, she works as both a voice actor and stage technician. She currently lives in Raleigh with a few dying plants and her dog, Lupe.

My Review:

Love Somebody was one of my most anticipated books of the year, so I was so pumped when I received an early copy to review! However, this book was different than I initially expected.  I found the characters very annoying but LOVED how they grew over the course of the book. The first third of the book is the teenagers are being teenagers- especially Sam. She thinks she knows best and anyone who doesn’t have the 5-year plan figured out at 17 is a failure at life. Chris and Ros are less frustrating to read from but are both still teenagers figuring out who they are and what it means to be themselves. I think part of the charm of this book was how flawed all the characters are because they are super fleshed out and I understood their motivations. The overall theme was lovely and sweet, and something I needed to hear even as an adult.

Overall, this was a super fun and quick read and I would highly recommend to anyone who is a fan of high school, contemporary romance with lgbtq+ rep!

GIVEAWAY INFORMATION

Up for grabs will be TWO (2) finished copies of Love Somebody by Rachel Roasek. This giveaway will run from January 10th through January 15th at 11:59 PM CST via Rafflecopter. Open to US residents only. Enter by clicking the link below!

GIVEAWAY LINK: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1e4a114d55/?

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s