TTT: Books I Enjoyed But Rarely Talk About

Who else feels like they neglect old favorites? Well this weeks prompt for Top Ten Tuesday hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl is all about book we’ve enjoyed but rarely talk about. So here are ten favorites that I don’t mention enough:

  1. Get in the Car Jupiter by Fisher Amelie is such a fun road trip book, and has a super cute romance!
  2. I See London, I See France by Sarah Mlynowski is one of my favorite travel novels! I loved that the characters are a bit older (around 19 and 20), and how atmospheric all the destinations were!
  3. Skyward by Brandon Sanderson is probably the best sci-fi book I have ever read. I never really read sci-fi, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one.
  4. The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis is such a powerful and suspenseful feminist novel. It gets really dark, and I suggest looking at the trigger warnings on Goodreads before going into it.
  5. A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro gives off such dark academia vibes, which is my favorite niche genre in books and movies! It’s a gender-bent retelling of Sherlock Holmes, so what more do I need to say?
  6. Foolish Hearts by Emma Mills is one of my favorite YA contemporaries, and it involves a high school production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. It is so cute and fun, so if you want a fluffy read, check this out!
  7. The Geography of Lost Things by Jessica Brody is another road trip book, but it carries more of an emotional punch, as the main character is trying to sell the car of her dead, estranged father.
  8. Starry Eyes by Jen Bennet is another favorite YA contemporary of mine! It has the typical “bad boy” trope, but then puts it’s own twist on it! It’s a friends to enemies to lovers story, which I thought was really well done!
  9. An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rodgerson is such an underrated standalone fantasy novel! If you love ACOTAR, or even Margaret Rogerson’s more popular book, Sorcery of Thorns, you’ll love An Enchantment of Ravens.
  10. Midnight At The Electric by Jodi Lynn Anderson is such a strange and lyrical novel that is so hard to explain. But it’s one of my favorite books of all time, and I’m really tempted to reread it!

17 Comments

  1. I liked this topic! I feel like there are so many books I want to talk about but so many fall through the cracks with all the new releases and whatnot. Anyway Starry eyes sounds so good and I’ve been wanting to try her books anyway, her last few have looked so good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment